Why a job in retail should be your next career move

With the plethora of career prospects, retail seems to get a bad rap. General consensus seems to be that a job in retail equates to terrible hours and waiting on challenging customers. It’s just not the case. A career in retail may just be one of the most rewarding careers you can chose!

Articles

Flexibility

Not a morning person? Who is! This isn’t your average 9-5 … and that can work to your advantage! One of the greatest benefits a career in retail offers is the flexibility to work around your life and priorities. Be it juggling childcare, education, or appointments, you’re able to choose from a variety of shifts and hours that fit YOUR schedule. Even if you’re looking to make some extra cash for that trip, or off-set holiday season expenses, part-time and seasonal opportunities allow you to do just that. Plus, you no longer have to waste vacation days on doctor’s appointments, or cramming chores into your weekends.

Variety

No day is the same.  One day you could be learning a new product and the next day, advising customers. A career in retail means you’re hardly ever tied to a routine. Love meeting new people? You’ll meet tons! Engaging with customers and helping them find the right product to meet their needs is just one of the aspects that make this job so rewarding.

Get paid to work out

Carpal tunnel syndrome, tennis elbow, lumbar sprains and strains, and, disc injuries are just a few of the potential injuries from sitting at a desk 40-hours a week.1 A retail job actually benefits your health! From constant moving to stocking merchandise, this career option offers a total body work out —allowing you to save on a gym membership. So, tie up those sneakers and watch your step count soar!

Discounts, discounts, discounts!

One of the most recognized perks of a career in this space is the discount you receive on the company’s products. Retailers make sure their staff is knowledgeable about their merchandise and brand. Be it clothes, electronics, or coffee, there is no arguing the benefits of an employee discount! With the holidays vastly approaching, who can deny a rebate on gifts?

Advancement opportunities

Companies love to promote from within. Especially in Retail. Nobody knows a product better than the people selling it, which is why this type of career is the best way to get your foot in the door! With a wide array of positions to develop into, such as, merchandising, store management, and, positions at head office, a career in retail may be the first step in landing your dream job.

And the number one reason...

Transferable skills

The transferable skills gained from a career (short or long) in retail are endless! From problem solving and multi-tasking, to professional interaction and conflict resolution, the skills learned from your retail experience will benefit the rest of your personal and professional life. You learn amazing interpersonal skills and how to work under pressure. All skills that will be attractive to future employers!

Ready to begin your career in retail? Adecco has you covered! We have daily opportunities available with reputable companies such as Nespresso. Contact your local Adecco branch to learn how to jump start your career and start reaping the benefits!

1 Advanced Chiropractic – Common Computer Related Injuries
http://www.advancechiro.on.ca/common-computer-related-injuries/

Related articles

6 Steps to a New Year with a Fresh Start

Whether you’re heading into the new year unemployed or focused on your next career move, finding your next job isn’t always an easy task. With a little help from the staffing pros at Adecco, we can help this new year lead to a new you!

read more
A Final Reflection on My #CEO1Month Experience

In September, Olivia Poulin, Canada’s 2018 CEO for One Month winner, was selected as a top 10 finalist for the Adecco Group’s Global CEO for One Month competition. She traveled to London, England to participate in the 3-day Global Bootcamp with 9 other finalists from across the world — and eventually made it to the top 5! Here, she shares her final reflection on her Global CEO for One Month experience.

read more

Pourquoi choisir le commerce de détail

De tous les domaines où faire carrière, le commerce de détail n’est certainement pas celui qui s’attire le plus d’éloges. De l’avis général, un emploi dans ce secteur rime avec horaires ingrats et temps passé à attendre des clients casse-pieds. Mais c’est un mythe : choisir le commerce de détail pourrait même devenir l’une de vos décisions professionnelles les plus gratifiantes.

Articles

Flexibilité

Vous n’êtes pas un lève-tôt? Ça tombe bien, car le commerce de détail n’est pas un monde de 9 à 5! En effet, l’un des grands avantages de faire carrière dans ce domaine, c’est que vous n’avez pas à négliger votre vie personnelle. Garderie, études, rendez-vous : vous n’aurez plus à jongler sans arrêt avec vos priorités, car vous pourrez aménager votre horaire en fonction de VOS besoins. Vous voulez simplement vous payer un voyage, ou rembourser vos dettes des Fêtes? Vous trouverez des postes saisonniers ou à temps partiel qui vous aideront à y arriver. Et puis, vous n’aurez plus à passer vos journées de congé chez le médecin, ou à abattre mille et une tâches la fin de semaine.

Diversité

Fini le pareil au même. Un jour, vous vous familiariserez avec un nouveau produit et le lendemain, vous conseillerez les clients. Travailler dans le commerce de détail, c’est dire adieu à la routine. Vous aimez rencontrer des gens? Vous serez servi! Discuter avec les clients et les aider à trouver le produit fait sur mesure pour eux, c’est d’ailleurs l’une des facettes les plus enrichissantes du métier.

Entraînement payé

Syndrome du canal carpien, épicondylite latérale, entorses et élongations lombaires, blessures discales : ce ne sont que quelques-uns des dangers qui guettent quiconque passe 40 heures par semaine assis à son bureau1. En d’autres mots, le commerce de détail, c’est bon pour la santé. Vous vous déplacez sans arrêt, vous manipulez des produits, bref, vous vous offrez un entraînement complet, sans le coût d’un abonnement au gym. Allez, attachez bien vos espadrilles, et préparez-vous à marcher un bon coup!

Rabais

L’un des avantages les plus connus que propose le secteur, c’est le rabais sur les produits de l’entreprise. Les détaillants tiennent à ce que leurs employés connaissent bien la marchandise et la marque, et quoi de mieux pour parvenir à cette fin que de leur permettre d’économiser, que ce soit sur des vêtements, du café ou des appareils électroniques? Avec la saison des Fêtes qui arrive à grands pas, dur de résister à l’idée de payer moins cher ses cadeaux!

Possibilités d’avancement

Les entreprises aiment promouvoir à l’interne, surtout dans le secteur. Nul ne connaît mieux un produit que celui qui le vend, ce qui rend ce type de carrière tout indiqué pour qui veut gravir les échelons! Offrant une foule de postes qui se prêtent à l’avancement (p. ex. marchandisage, direction de magasin, siège social), le commerce de détail est peut-être le tremplin vers votre emploi de rêve.

Et la principale raison…

Compétences transférables

Vous acquerrez tellement de compétences transférables lors de votre carrière dans le commerce de détail, qu’elle soit longue ou pas! Résolution de problèmes et de conflits, capacité à mener plusieurs tâches de front, interactions professionnelles : ce que vous apprendrez vous servira votre vie durant, et pas seulement sur le marché du travail. Vous développerez en outre de formidables aptitudes interpersonnelles et une capacité à œuvrer sous pression qui séduiront tout employeur!

Prêt pour le grand saut? Adecco est là pour vous! Chaque jour, nous avons des postes à pourvoir au sein d’entreprises réputées, comme Nespresso. Communiquez avec une succursale près de chez vous pour donner un second souffle à votre carrière, et voyez comme ça rapporte!

1 Advanced Chiropractic, « Common computer-related injuries ».
http://www.advancechiro.on.ca/common-computer-related-injuries/

Contenu connexe

Six étapes pour un nouveau départ en 2019

Que vous soyez en quête d’un emploi ou que vous souhaitiez réorienter votre carrière, la recherche n’est pas facile. Adecco met ses professionnels du recrutement à votre service pour que la nouvelle année soit vraiment une période de renouveau pour vous!

Autres
Réflexion finale sur mon expérience comme #PDG1mois

En septembre, Olivia Poulin, la PDG pour un mois 2018 d’Adecco Canada, a été retenue parmi les 10 finalistes de PDG mondial pour un mois du Groupe Adecco. À Londres, elle a participé au Bootcamp mondial de trois jours en compagnie de neuf autres concurrents de partout dans le monde – et s’est taillé une place parmi les cinq premiers! Elle nous partage sa réflexion finale sur son expérience de PDG mondial pour un mois.

Autres