Resume Help: Make an Impact

These 10 tips will help you build the perfect resume. Go beyond standard resume best practices and create one that will open doors.

Articles
Resume on table: tips on creating a perfect resume

Adecco’s resume tips will help get your cv to the top of the pile and one step closer to landing the job of your dreams!

A resume is your first point of contact with potential employers, so it’s essential to know how to write a resume that reflects your skills, experience and qualifications. Check out our resume best practices to make sure yours stands out.

1. Nail down the best resume format

The best resume templates highlight your experience, skills and/or education to exemplify why you’re the ideal candidate. The three main types of resume formats include:

  • Functional: Highlights skills and experience rather than listing work history in chronological order. Designed to elevate your skills and capabilities, a functional resume is perfect if you’re changing careers or have lengthy employment gaps.
  • Chronological: Lists your work experience in order of the most recent position at the top. Not only is this resume type easy to read, it’s also the perfect format to feature your career progression.
  • Combination: A mix of functional and chronological. The first part promotes skills, achievements and qualifications, which is followed by a list of work experience in reverse chronological order.

2. Provide full contact details

Obvious or not, your contact information should be clearly marked and noticeable by placing it at the top of your resume and include your:

  • Full name
  • Phone number
  • E-mail address
  • Home address
  • LinkedIn profile link
  • Personal website link

Providing your full contact information upfront sets the tone for transparency and makes it easy to find your experience and skills through your digital presence.

Tip - If you chose to include your LinkedIn profile, make sure your profile is up-to-date and that you’re frequently adding new skills, relevant industry news and are requesting relevant endorsements from past management and colleagues.

3. Career objective vs. candidate profile

A strong resume starts with a career objective or candidate profile. This content gives future employers a glimpse into your professional achievements and what you’re looking for in your next role.

Career Objective: Focuses on what you would like to achieve within the role. It details any skill sets you’re looking to enhance or industries you’re intending to work in. Knowing exactly what you want out of a position highlights your direction and initiative to potential employers.

Candidate Profile: Also known as a career summary or summary of qualifications, provides a quick glance at your skills, experience and qualifications. It clearly outlines why you’re the perfect candidate for the role.

4. Highlight the right skills

A skill set that is targeted to the opportunity has the potential to identify you as the perfect fit. Some of the best resume examples include a diverse set of soft and hard skills.

Soft Skills: Often specific to your personality and the attributes needed to succeed in a work environment. Soft skills are earned through experiences and interaction, rather than education. Consider adding soft skills to your resume including: presentation, public speaking, writing reports and proposals, critical thinking and research. Make sure to ask yourself if a skill makes you a better candidate before adding it to your resume.

Hard Skills: Reflects the specific qualifications required to do the job. Hard skills are taught through education and experience. Hard skills will vary by industry and company. For example, an accountant may use different software depending on the organization he’s working for. Using the required skills from the job description as a starting point and consider adding others such as computer skills (such as Microsoft or CRM programs), data analysis, numeracy and foreign languages. If need be, you can brush up your hard skills with the help of Adecco’s SkillBuilder e-learning platform!

Tip - Many employers will use an applicant tracking system (ATS) to filter out resumes that don’t include their required keywords. By mirroring your skills to those listed in the job requirements, you’re one step closer to ensuring that your resume passes the ATS and lands on the desk of a hiring manager.

5. List your experiences

The experiences section is critical since it identifies how you implemented your skills and education into your day-to-day responsibilities, while showcasing your contributions. When formatting the experiences section be sure to:

  • List positions in reverse-chronological order to identify your most recent position at the top of the experiences section.
  • Include dates of employment (year and month), the full name of the organization and city and province of employment.
  • Be specific with your responsibilities within each role. Use action words and real numbers to identify awards received, costs saved, etc..
  • Describe how each point exemplifies the value you bring to an organization.

Tip – Limit your experiences to the last 10 to 15 years to make sure your skills and experiences are still relevant to the job you’re applying for.

6. Awards and recognitions

The one thing that is sure to set you apart from other candidates in your field are the awards and recognition you have earned throughout your professional career — so don’t be afraid to boast a little! To do so:

  • Describe the purpose of the award and the accomplishment it recognizes.
  • Include the date of the recognition to prove the relevancy and support your skill set.
  • Identify whether the award was regional, national or international.

Tip – Avoid doubling up. Do not include achievements that can, or have been, added to your education or employment history.

7. Include your education

Your educational history exemplifies the knowledge and understanding you have in your industry. Format your education section to identify:

  • Institutions attended
  • Degrees or certificates attained
  • Dates of attendance
  • Honours or awards
  • Any other professional development courses and certifications

Tip – Refrain from including any incomplete education. It portrays a lack of commitment to any potential employers.

8. Recent references

Keep your resume in line with the skills and experiences required for the role at hand. Rather than including your references at the bottom of your resume, you can create a separate professional reference page. References are most likely requested after the first or second interview. When you do provide them, be sure to include:

  • The reference’s full name, title, organization, phone number and email address.
  • Your relationship to the reference and how long you’ve known them for.

Tip – Always ask your references for permission to release their contact information. This will make sure references aren’t caught off guard by a phone call or email and puts them in a position to provide a strong recommendation.

9. Cover letter

Your cover letter connects the dots between your skills and experiences to the responsibilities of the job. A strong cover letter includes certain elements — a personal address line, a hook, why you’re qualified and general knowledge of the business.

  • Personal Address Line: Avoid addressing it to “To whom it may concern”. The lack of personalization isn’t going to be an attention grabber. If you can’t find the name of the hiring manager, go with “Employers at [company name]”.
  • The Hook: An opening sentence that grabs the reader’s attention and demonstrates why you’re qualified and unique.
  • Why you’re Qualified: Target the position and keep it focused. Be concise in connecting your experiences and skills to those listed in the job description and show them how they will benefit the department and/or organization.
  • General Knowledge of the Business: Show them you did your research. Stand out by talking about their business and identifying why you would like to join their organization.

Tip – Don’t be afraid to show some personality! The hiring manager will be considering your skills and experience as well as your fit with the organization.

10. Additional information

If relevant, you can always include some extras on your resume.

  • Testimonials and Publications: Consider including testimonials and publications you may have appeared in to emphasize your expertise in your field/industry.
  • Portfolio: If submitting digital applications to creative fields such as graphic design or content writing, be sure to provide a link to your digital portfolio. If the resume is being submitted in person, attach a few samples of your work.
  • Volunteer work: If you lack paid work experience, include volunteer work on your resume to identify your hard and soft skills. Community service experience can also showcase your goodwill initiatives for organizations that value corporate social responsibility.
  • Hobbies and interests: Generally speaking, hobbies and interests take up valuable space on your resume and do little to improve your candidacy. Should you choose to include this category on your resume, make sure the hobbies and interests listed are relevant to your field of work.

General Tips

A few final resume best practices to consider.

  • Select the right font. Select a serif font that is easy to read like Times New Roman, Arial, Tahoma or Century Gothic. Test the legibility by printing a copy. If the font appears cramped, or you find yourself squinting, you’ll need to change your font.
  • Format headings. Make your headings and name stand out by making them bold, italicized or underlined. Ensure your headings are uniform throughout your resume to maintain clarity and consistency.
  • Keep it short and relevant. A three-page resume doesn’t equate to being more qualified for the job. In fact, using the six-second scan theory, the recruiter is not likely to read past the first page! Although we recommend keeping your relevant skills and experience at the top of your resume, don’t compromise your content by shrinking the font or increasing your margins to limit your resume to one page.
  • Proofread. Have someone review your resume to catch any spelling mistakes and grammatical errors you may have missed.
  • Customize. Each job opportunity is unique and requires different skills, so your resume needs to reflect that. Customize your resume to match the skills and requirements for each position.

With a perfectly crafted resume under your belt, you are ready to start preparing for interviews!

For career help that includes resume tips, look no further than the professionals at Adecco. With hundreds of opportunities opening daily and recruitment professionals dedicated to connecting you to the perfect job, visit your local Adecco branch to register today!

Related articles

Preparing for Behavioural Interview Questions as a New Grad

Interview preparation made easy! Hiring experts at Adecco Canada shared their best tips to help prepare you for behavioural interview questions. Start preparing now!

read more
How to Find a Job: 30 Tips

30 tips for landing your next job! Adecco’s got your practical job advice that brings guaranteed results. Here are some vital tips to guide your job search.

read more

 

Like what you see? Sign up to receive more!

* indicates required

Comment rédiger son CV pour se démarquer

Nos 10 conseils vous permettront de rédiger le CV parfait. Allez au-delà des meilleures pratiques et créez le CV qui vous ouvrira des portes.

Articles
CV sur une table : des conseils pour créer le CV parfait

Grâce aux conseils d’Adecco, votre CV se retrouvera sur le dessus de la pile, ce qui vous rapprochera un peu plus de l’emploi de rêve!

Comme le CV représente votre tout premier contact avec un employeur éventuel, il doit absolument présenter vos compétences, votre expérience et vos qualités. Apprenez nos meilleures pratiques en matière de rédaction de CV et sachez vous distinguer.

1. Le bon modèle de CV

Un CV parfait met en valeur votre expérience, vos compétences et votre formation pour illustrer pourquoi vous êtes le candidat idéal. Voici les trois principaux modèles de CV :

  • Le CV fonctionnel : Il souligne les compétences et l’expérience au lieu de prendre la forme d’une liste chronologique des emplois occupés. Destiné à mettre en évidence vos compétences et vos capacités, le CV fonctionnel est parfait en cas de changement de carrière ou de longues périodes sans emploi.
  • Le CV chronologique : Il présente votre expérience de travail, en commençant par la plus récente. Non seulement ce type de CV se lit bien, mais il est aussi parfait pour montrer votre progression de carrière.
  • Le CV combiné : C’est un mélange des deux premiers modèles. La première partie du CV expose les compétences, les réalisations et les qualités, et la seconde, les emplois occupés, mais en ordre antichronologique.

2. Vos coordonnées complètes

Vos coordonnées doivent être bien visibles, dans le haut de votre CV. Elles doivent comprendre :

  • votre nom complet;
  • votre numéro de téléphone;
  • votre adresse courriel;
  • votre adresse du domicile;
  • un lien vers votre profil LinkedIn;
  • un lien vers votre site Web personnel.

En fournissant d’entrée de jeu vos coordonnées complètes, vous faites preuve de transparence, en plus de faciliter la consultation de votre profil professionnel sur le Web.

Astuce – Si vous incluez votre profil LinkedIn, assurez-vous qu’il est à jour. Il est aussi conseillé de l’étoffer régulièrement, d’y ajouter des nouvelles de votre secteur et d’obtenir des recommandations pertinentes de la part d’anciens patrons et collègues.

3. Objectif de carrière ou profil du candidat

Un CV convaincant commence par l’énoncé de l’objectif de carrière ou par le profil du candidat. Il s’agit de donner à l’employeur éventuel un aperçu de vos réalisations professionnelles et de ce que vous recherchez dans vos prochaines fonctions.

Objectif de carrière : Votre objectif de carrière met l’accent sur ce que vous aimeriez réaliser à ce poste. L’énoncé précise les compétences que vous souhaitez perfectionner ou les secteurs d’activité dans lesquels vous avez l’intention de travailler. Le fait de savoir exactement ce que vous voulez d’un emploi montre à l’employeur éventuel que vous savez où vous allez et que vous avez de la détermination.

Profil du candidat : Parfois appelé « résumé de carrière » ou « résumé des compétences », le profil du candidat donne un aperçu de vos compétences, de votre expérience et de vos qualités. Il énonce clairement pourquoi vous êtes le candidat idéal.

4. Les compétences à mettre en valeur

En présentant des compétences correspondant à celles exigées, vous pourriez ressortir comme le candidat tout désigné pour le poste convoité. Les CV les mieux rédigés présenteront des compétences à la fois générales et spécialisées.

Compétences générales : Elles sont souvent propres à la personnalité et aux qualités nécessaires pour réussir en milieu de travail. On acquiert les compétences générales par nos expériences de vie et nos interactions, plutôt que par l’éducation. Parmi les compétences générales à inclure dans le CV, citons la présentation, l’art oratoire, la rédaction de rapports et de propositions, la pensée critique ainsi que la recherche. Avant d’ajouter quelque compétence que ce soit à votre CV, demandez-vous si elle fait de vous un meilleur candidat.

Compétences spécialisées : Montrez que vous possédez les compétences particulières exigées pour le poste. On acquiert les compétences spécialisées par l’éducation et l’expérience. Les compétences spécialisées varient d’un secteur à l’autre. Ainsi, un comptable pourra utiliser des logiciels différents selon l’entreprise qui l’emploie. Servez-vous des compétences exigées dans la description de poste comme point de départ, et complétez-les en décrivant par exemple vos compétences en informatique (programmes Microsoft ou CRM), en analyse de données, en numératie ou en langues étrangères. Au besoin, rafraîchissez vos compétences spécialisées à l’aide de l’application de formation en ligne SkillBuilder d’Adecco!

Astuce – Nombreux sont les employeurs qui ont recours à un système de suivi des candidatures pour éliminer les CV ne renfermant pas les mots-clés qu’ils recherchent. En faisant le lien entre vos compétences et celles exigées pour le poste convoité, votre CV aura plus de chances d’être retenu dans le système de suivi des candidatures et d’aboutir sur le bureau d’un responsable du recrutement.

5. Votre expérience

La section sur l’expérience professionnelle est essentielle, car elle montre comment vous avez mis en application vos compétences et votre formation dans le cadre de vos responsabilités courantes et elle met en valeur vos contributions. Dans cette section :

  • Faites la liste des postes que vous avez occupés du plus récent au plus ancien.
  • Inscrivez les dates d’emploi (année et mois), le nom complet de l’entreprise et la ville et la province du lieu de travail.
  • Décrivez avec précision les responsabilités associées à chaque poste. Utilisez des verbes d’action et des statistiques réelles pour décrire les prix reçus, les coûts épargnés, etc.
  • Expliquez, pour chacune des expériences présentées, quelle est votre contribution à l’entreprise.

Astuce – Limitez-vous à vos emplois des 10 à 15 dernières années, de sorte que les compétences et l’expérience présentées soient pertinentes pour l’emploi postulé.

6. Vos prix et distinctions

S’il y a bien quelque chose qui vous permet de vous démarquer des autres candidats, ce sont les prix et distinctions que vous avez reçus durant votre carrière, alors ne soyez pas gêné de les mettre en valeur! Dans cette section :

  • Décrivez la raison d’être du prix et ce qu’il récompense.
  • Inscrivez la date à laquelle il vous a été décerné pour montrer sa pertinence avec l’emploi postulé et les compétences recherchées.
  • Indiquez s’il s’agit d’un prix régional, national ou international.

Astuce – Évitez les répétitions. N’incluez pas les réalisations qui peuvent être ou ont été ajoutées aux sections sur les études et l’expérience professionnelle.

7. Vos études

Vos études montrent les connaissances que vous avez acquises pour exercer votre métier. Dans cette section, indiquez :

  • les établissements fréquentés;
  • les diplômes ou certificats reçus;
  • les dates d’études;
  • les mentions ou prix vous ayant été décernés;
  • tout autre cours suivi ou toute autre certification reçue.

Astuce – Abstenez-vous d’inclure les programmes non terminés. Vos employeurs potentiels pourraient y voir un manque de motivation de votre part.

8. Des références récentes

Assurez-vous que votre CV reflète bien l’expérience et les compétences requises pour le poste. Au lieu d’écrire vos références au bas de votre CV, vous pouvez les mettre sur une page distincte. Généralement, les références sont demandées après la première ou la deuxième entrevue. N’oubliez pas d’inscrire :

  • le nom complet de la personne, son titre, le nom de l’entreprise pour laquelle elle travaille, son numéro de téléphone et son adresse courriel;
  • votre lien avec cette personne et depuis combien d’années vous la connaissez.

Astuce – Demandez toujours à la personne si elle vous autorise à inscrire ses coordonnées dans votre CV. De cette façon, elle ne sera pas prise au dépourvu si elle reçoit un appel ou un courriel lui demandant de fournir des recommandations et elle sera en mesure de répondre adéquatement à la demande.

9. La lettre de présentation

La lettre de présentation vous permet de faire le lien entre vos compétences et votre expérience et les responsabilités de l’emploi postulé. Une bonne lettre de présentation contient une formule d’appel personnalisée, une présentation accrocheuse, les raisons pour lesquelles vous êtes qualifié pour le poste et vos connaissances générales sur l’entreprise (article en anglais seulement).

  • Formule d’appel personnalisée : Évitez de commencer votre lettre par l’expression impersonnelle « À qui de droit », qui n’attire pas vraiment l’attention du lecteur. Si vous ne savez pas qui est le responsable du recrutement, utilisez une formule comme « À l’attention de l’employeur chez [nom de l’entreprise] ».
  • Présentation accrocheuse : Rédigez une phrase d’introduction qui attire l’attention du lecteur et explique pourquoi vous êtes qualifié et unique.
  • Raisons pour lesquelles vous êtes qualifié : Concentrez-vous sur le poste visé et établissez des liens entre vos expériences et vos compétences et celles demandées dans la description de poste, tout en demeurant concis. Montrez à votre futur employeur comment vous mettrez à profit votre bagage et vos aptitudes dans son service ou son entreprise.
  • Connaissances générales sur l’entreprise : Montrez que vous avez fait vos devoirs et que vous connaissez l’entreprise et expliquez pourquoi vous aimeriez en faire partie.

Astuce – N’ayez pas peur de montrer votre personnalité! Le responsable du recrutement tiendra compte de vos compétences et de votre expérience, mais également de votre compatibilité avec la culture de l’entreprise.

10. Les compléments d’information

Si c’est pertinent, vous pouvez toujours inclure d’autres renseignements sur votre CV.

  • Témoignages et publications : Pensez à inclure des témoignages et des publications vous mentionnant pour faire valoir votre expertise.
  • Portfolio : Si vous présentez une candidature numérique pour un emploi dans le domaine de la création, comme la conception graphique ou la rédaction, n’oubliez pas d’inclure un lien vers votre portfolio. Si vous remettez votre CV en personne, joignez-y quelques exemples de votre travail.
  • Bénévolat : Si vous n’avez pas une vaste expérience de travail, ajoutez vos activités de bénévolat à votre CV et présentez les compétences générales et spécialisées qu’elles vous ont permis d’acquérir. En parlant de vos initiatives dans le domaine communautaire, vous mettez en valeur votre volonté de contribuer à des organisations qui accordent de l’importance à la responsabilité sociale.
  • Loisirs et intérêts : De façon générale, vos loisirs et intérêts ne contribuent guère à faire sortir votre candidature du lot et occupent un espace considérable sur votre CV. Si vous choisissez d’inclure cette catégorie à votre CV, assurez-vous de mentionner des loisirs et intérêts pertinents pour votre travail.

Quelques conseils généraux

Voici quelques derniers conseils qui pourraient vous être utiles.

  • Choisissez la bonne police. Sélectionnez une police facile à lire comme Times New Roman, Arial, Tahoma ou Century Gothic. Imprimez une copie de votre CV pour en vérifier la lisibilité : si vous devez approcher la feuille pour bien voir ou que vous avez de la difficulté à lire ce qui est écrit, c’est signe que vous devez changer de police.
  • Faites ressortir les titres de rubriques. Assurez-vous que votre nom et les titres de rubriques sont bien visibles en les mettant en gras, en italique ou en les soulignant. Veillez aussi à ce que les titres de rubriques de votre CV soient uniformes de façon pour en assurer la clarté et la cohérence.
  • Soyez concis et pertinent. Même si votre CV fait trois pages, cela ne signifie pas pour autant que vous êtes plus qualifié pour l’emploi. En réalité, si l’on se fie à la théorie des six secondes (article en anglais seulement) qu’un recruteur consacre à votre CV, celui-ci ne se rendra pas plus loin que la première page! Même si nous vous recommandons de mentionner vos compétences et votre expérience pertinentes dès le début de votre CV, n’essayez pas de diminuer la taille de la police ou d’ajuster les marges pour que tout le contenu tienne sur une page.
  • Relisez-vous. Demandez à quelqu’un de lire votre CV afin d’y repérer toute erreur d’orthographe et de grammaire que vous auriez pu laisser passer.
  • Personnalisez votre CV. Chaque emploi est unique et fait appel à différentes compétences, alors adaptez votre CV en conséquence pour montrer que vous répondez aux exigences du poste.

Une fois que vous avez rédigé le CV parfait, vous êtes prêt pour l’étape suivante : la préparation aux entrevues!

Les professionnels d’Adecco seront ravis de vous aider dans votre recherche d’emploi, notamment en vous donnant des conseils pour la rédaction de CV. Adecco vous offre des centaines de nouvelles offres d’emploi chaque jour et met à votre disposition des professionnels du recrutement qui vous aideront à trouver votre emploi de rêve. Visitez votre succursale Adecco dès maintenant pour profiter de nos services!

Contenu connexe

Préparation des nouveaux diplômés à l’entrevue comportementale

La préparation à l’entrevue, simplifiée! Les spécialistes de l’embauche chez Adecco Canada présentent de précieux conseils pour vous préparer à l’entrevue comportementale. Commencez dès maintenant votre préparation!

Autres
30 conseils pour trouver un emploi

30 conseils pour décrocher votre prochain emploi! Suivez ce guide pratique d’Adecco pour obtenir des résultats garantis. Voici des conseils indispensables pour orienter votre recherche d’emploi.

Autres

 

Vous aimez? Abonnez-vous pour ne rien manquer!

* Obligatoire